BJP declares names for Ahmedabad, Bhavnagar and Vadodara mayors

Share this article !


Ajeet Tiwari

The Gujarat BJP Parliamentary Board has decided on the names for the mayors of Ahmedabad, Bhavnagar and Vadodara. Kirit Parmar will be the mayor of Ahmedabad, Keerthi Bain of Bhavnagar and Keyur Rokadia will be the mayor of Vadodara.

The BJP claimed victory in all 31 district panchayats, around 200 of 231 taluka panchayats and 75 of 81 municipalities which went to polls. All six local body seats were won by BJP. Earlier, the names of the mayor could not be announced due to the panchayat elections and then after series of BJP meeting. The core committee had marathon meeting in Gandhinagar to elect the mayors from the selected councillors.

The post of Mayor in Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation was reserved for Scheduled Castes, so Kirit Parmar was elected for the post. Geeta Patel has been elected as deputy superintendent of of the city, while Hitesh Barot is the standing committee chairman.

Kirti Danidhariya has been elected for Bhavnagar Mayor, while Kunal Shah’s name has been chosen for the deputy mayor. From Vadodara,  Keyur Rokadia has been selected.

BJP’s media in-charge Yagnesh Dave said that the deliberation is going on for the posts of mayor and other posts for Surat, Rajkot and Jamnagar and their names will be announced soon. Significantly, in the recently concluded local body elections in the state, the Bharatiya Janata Party got an overwhelming majority in the metropolitan municipality and the district panchayats and the main opposition Congress could not win in a single city or metropolis.

Share this article !

0 Reviews

Related post